Linux Support (Beta)

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X4: Foundations.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

d3drocks
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed, 21. Apr 10, 04:59
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by d3drocks » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 17:02

CBJ wrote:
Tue, 26. Feb 19, 17:00
The final Linux version will also be released on GOG, but we will not be making Beta versions available there for Linux.
OK. Thank you for clearing that up. I've been holding out on purchasing X4 until I could get that cleared up!

ironwill
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 05, 07:02
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by ironwill » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 17:27

Brianetta wrote:
Tue, 26. Feb 19, 16:49
The network features of the game authenticate against your account on this forum. Presumably, these libs are required to do that. Kerberos allows the game to get a ticket and stay logged in, while ssh can do whatever ssl does, considering that it's all self-certified.
That is a quite interesting and, well, uncommon setup for a game. Do I see this correctly? The Windows version seems to use quite a different setup (took a "quick" look using IDApro).

Mortifer
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri, 5. Nov 04, 11:28
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by Mortifer » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 18:09

https://www.bilder-upload.eu/upload/873 ... 201098.png

Game not starting.



{Images posted directly to the forums should not be greater than 640x480 or 100kb, oversize image now linked - Terre}

fallenwizard
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue, 13. Apr 10, 20:03
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by fallenwizard » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 18:29

Mortifer wrote:
Tue, 26. Feb 19, 18:09
[ external image ]

Game not starting.
This means you have a non-working Vulkan setup. Take a look at this site for a solution:
https://github.com/doitsujin/dxvk/wiki/Common-issues

for the lazy:
Next, make sure you've got vulkan libraries installed on your system.

On ubuntu: sudo apt-get install libvulkan1 libvulkan1:i386

On arch linux: sudo pacman -S vulkan-icd-loader lib32-vulkan-icd-loader

If you're on AMD, you'll also need to install the vulkan driver separately.

On ubuntu: sudo apt-get install mesa-vulkan-drivers mesa-vulkan-drivers:i386

On arch linux: sudo pacman -S vulkan-radeon lib32-vulkan-radeon
It's for DXVK, but should be worth to look at for any Vulkan game.

Mortifer
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri, 5. Nov 04, 11:28
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by Mortifer » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 18:34

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libvulkan1 libvulkan1:i386
sudo apt-get install mesa-vulkan-drivers mesa-vulkan-drivers:i386
Thank you. This solved the problem.

lazy_banana
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun, 18. Mar 12, 14:15
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by lazy_banana » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 18:54

I got to try it and I'm happy to say that I didn't encounter any issues with the game for the 1 hour I played it. Performance looks good.
My only complaint is that it takes longer to alt-tab compared to Windows. On Windows it is instant, on Linux it takes a few seconds for both fullscreen and borderless modes. Might be something to do with my setup, but I didn't have time to test it extensively.

PSA for Linux users with Nvidia Optimus laptops: you have to switch to discrete graphics to play this game with the proprietary driver, you can't use dynamic switching (EDIT: see first solution). It's not the dev's fault. The Nvidia driver doesn't support dynamic switching on Linux and bumblebee (optirun and primusrun) don't support Vulkan. nvidia-xrun works partially, but if you switch TTYs while the game is running the game will freeze and segfault (known issue).

Solutions:
  • New: use primus_vk. It's a bit fiddly but it works! Set the launch option to

    Code: Select all

    ENABLE_PRIMUS_LAYER=1 optirun -b primus %command%
    With Vsync off the performance is very close to using the Nvidia GPU as primary.
  • Use the Nvidia GPU as the primary. Some distros like Ubuntu and Fedora have a tool to switch between the Intel and NVIDIA GPUs. If your distro doesn't have such a tool you can do it manually by following this guide: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NV ... ing_nvidia.
  • Use the open-source driver which implements proper dynamic switching. I didn't test it so I have no idea how it performs.
    EDIT: I didn't know that nouveau doesn't support Vulkan.
  • Use nvidia-xrun but don't switch TTYs while the game is running. Guide: https://forum.manjaro.org/t/how-to-use- ... xrun/56260.
I use the first solution. In my case I want dynamic switching when not gaming so I have bumblebee installed. When I want to switch to the Nvidia GPU for gaming I have to disable bumblebeed.service after performing the steps in the linked guide, and re-enable it when I want to switch back. (Edit: with primus_vk this is no longer the case :) )

Hope this helps someone.
Last edited by lazy_banana on Tue, 26. Feb 19, 20:50, edited 6 times in total.

User avatar
Byter
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon, 9. Sep 13, 16:52
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by Byter » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 18:57

I know my version is not officially supported, but maybe this is a more common problem.

Version:

Code: Select all

4.20.11-1-MANJARO #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Feb 20 23:19:36 UTC 2019 x86_64 GNU/Linux
I'm starting the game with "-skipintro -logfile debug.log". The contents of debug.log are:
Logfile started, time Tue Feb 26 18:40:11 2019
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 File I/O: Could not find file './etc\xml\catalog'
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 FileIORequest::WaitForResult() Failed './etc\xml\catalog' with 4
[=ERROR=] 0.00 File I/O: Could not find file './etc\xml\catalog.sig'
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 XLib::XMLInputOpenCallback(): Failed to open the file: etc/xml/catalog
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 File I/O: Could not find file './t\0002'
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 File I/O: Could not find file './t\0002.sig'
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 FileIORequest::WaitForResult() Failed './t\0002' with 4
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 XLib::XMLInputOpenCallback(): Failed to open the file: t/0002
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 Error parsing text file t/0002 with libxml2
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 GetTextPage() TextPageTable for page 102 not found!
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 'AMD RADV VEGA10 (LLVM 7.0.1)' AMD-driver v18.3.3 (Vulkan 1.1.70) check=1
Starting the game works fine, it seems to do its thing... and then EVERYTHING simply hangs. Can't even access tty2. But the music keeps playing :P
I managed to get to the main menu ONCE, thought I could change the AA settings and whatnot before starting a new game and ended up with the same problem.

As mentioned in the main post, I already tried waiting for about 20 minutes in hope it comes back... but nope.

A more verbose log could help maybe? How would I obtain that? Or am I simply missing some dependency?

Mortifer
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri, 5. Nov 04, 11:28
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by Mortifer » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 19:30

Bug 1:
If you select ships with the mouse in the map, the selected ship get's deselected after 1-2 seconds.
Wenn man mit der Maus in der Karte ein Schiff auswählt, wird es innerhalb 1-2 Sekunden wieder abgewählt.

Bug 2:
After switching to the desktop (alt+tab) and back again, the game window is not fully restored and you can't select anything in the game.
Geht man mit Alt-Tab in den Desktop und zurück ins Spiel, wird das Spiel nicht vollständig angezeigt und man kann nichts mehr im Spiel anklicken bzw. auswählen.
https://www.bilder-upload.eu/upload/c04 ... 205335.png


Edit:
These bugs only appearing if you stay in the desktop some while - about 10 seconds.
Diese Bugs treten nur auf, wenn man etwas länger im Desktop bleibt - um die 10 Sekunden.

{Images posted directly to the forums should not be greater than 640x480 or 100kb, oversize image now linked - Terre}

Mortifer
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri, 5. Nov 04, 11:28
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by Mortifer » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 19:49

Last edited by Mortifer on Tue, 26. Feb 19, 20:16, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
neare
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri, 13. Mar 15, 18:18
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by neare » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 20:04

CBJ wrote:
Tue, 26. Feb 19, 17:00
The final Linux version will also be released on GOG, but we will not be making Beta versions available there for Linux.
that is a step backwards. I was amazed that egosoft provided the windows beta patches in the past via galaxy so fast. Same time as steam i guess.

ant1393
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon, 10. Dec 18, 12:54
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by ant1393 » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 20:31

hi ! i got ubuntu 18.10 and nvidia-415,

i can'T retrieve my new save in "./home/*myfolder*/documents/EGOSOFT/....."...

documents folder is empty.

i would like to import my saves from windows, do you found where the save is located ?

thx for help !
ubuntu 18.10 latest updates + nvidia-415 + pulseaudio + xbox one pad.

i7-2600k, gtx 970, 16 gb ram, focusrite saffire pro 24 soundcard, ssd.

andrewpc
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun, 27. Jan 19, 19:11
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by andrewpc » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 20:35

I am suffering the same issue as you using openSUSE Tumbleweed with vulkanifo returning the following. Note I also have Vega 64 and LLVM 7.0

Code: Select all

 ==========
VULKANINFO
==========

Vulkan Instance Version: 1.1.91

Instance Extensions:
====================
Instance Extensions     count = 17
        VK_EXT_acquire_xlib_display         : extension revision  1
        VK_EXT_debug_report                 : extension revision  9
        VK_EXT_debug_utils                  : extension revision  1
        VK_EXT_direct_mode_display          : extension revision  1
        VK_EXT_display_surface_counter      : extension revision  1
        VK_KHR_device_group_creation        : extension revision  1
        VK_KHR_display                      : extension revision 23
        VK_KHR_external_fence_capabilities  : extension revision  1
        VK_KHR_external_memory_capabilities : extension revision  1
        VK_KHR_external_semaphore_capabilities: extension revision  1
        VK_KHR_get_display_properties2      : extension revision  1
        VK_KHR_get_physical_device_properties2: extension revision  1
        VK_KHR_get_surface_capabilities2    : extension revision  1
        VK_KHR_surface                      : extension revision 25
        VK_KHR_wayland_surface              : extension revision  6
        VK_KHR_xcb_surface                  : extension revision  6
        VK_KHR_xlib_surface                 : extension revision  6
Layers: count = 10
=======
VK_LAYER_GOOGLE_threading (Google Validation Layer) Vulkan version 1.1.96, layer version 1
        Layer Extensions        count = 1
                VK_EXT_debug_report                 : extension revision  6
        Devices         count = 2
                GPU id       : 0 (AMD RADV VEGA10 (LLVM 7.0.0))
                Layer-Device Extensions count = 0
                GPU id       : 1 (AMD RADV VEGA10 (LLVM 7.0.0))
                Layer-Device Extensions count = 0

 
Byter wrote:
Tue, 26. Feb 19, 18:57
I know my version is not officially supported, but maybe this is a more common problem.

Version:

Code: Select all

4.20.11-1-MANJARO #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Feb 20 23:19:36 UTC 2019 x86_64 GNU/Linux
I'm starting the game with "-skipintro -logfile debug.log". The contents of debug.log are:
Logfile started, time Tue Feb 26 18:40:11 2019
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 File I/O: Could not find file './etc\xml\catalog'
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 FileIORequest::WaitForResult() Failed './etc\xml\catalog' with 4
[=ERROR=] 0.00 File I/O: Could not find file './etc\xml\catalog.sig'
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 XLib::XMLInputOpenCallback(): Failed to open the file: etc/xml/catalog
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 File I/O: Could not find file './t\0002'
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 File I/O: Could not find file './t\0002.sig'
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 FileIORequest::WaitForResult() Failed './t\0002' with 4
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 XLib::XMLInputOpenCallback(): Failed to open the file: t/0002
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 Error parsing text file t/0002 with libxml2
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[=ERROR=] 0.00 GetTextPage() TextPageTable for page 102 not found!
[General] 0.00 ======================================
[General] 0.00 'AMD RADV VEGA10 (LLVM 7.0.1)' AMD-driver v18.3.3 (Vulkan 1.1.70) check=1
Starting the game works fine, it seems to do its thing... and then EVERYTHING simply hangs. Can't even access tty2. But the music keeps playing :P
I managed to get to the main menu ONCE, thought I could change the AA settings and whatnot before starting a new game and ended up with the same problem.

As mentioned in the main post, I already tried waiting for about 20 minutes in hope it comes back... but nope.

A more verbose log could help maybe? How would I obtain that? Or am I simply missing some dependency?

User avatar
MakerLinux
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue, 14. Nov 17, 13:10
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by MakerLinux » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 20:38

MakerLinux wrote:
Tue, 26. Feb 19, 11:08
Eager to try it. Will buy the game as soon as the beta is out.
WOW... I thought I would have to wait a week or so to get my hands on X4... You guys ROCK! Bought at full price, THANK YOU for the Linux love! <3
Brazilian Linux-only user living in Poland, https://steamcommunity.com/id/patolinux on Steam. PC I use for playing: Ryzen 7 7800X3D with 64 GB 6GHz DDR5 CL30, AMD Radeon RX 7900 XTX, ArchLinux on KDE 6 Wayland
Controllers: steam controller via sc-controller or HOTAS set: Saitek X52 Pro + MFD F-16 + G29 pedals.
VR headset: Valve Index & Meta Quest 2. My other PC: Steam Deck OLED with nReal AIR AR headset

ant1393
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon, 10. Dec 18, 12:54
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by ant1393 » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 20:43

.. et UN GRAND MERCé !!!!!! for the Linux version !!!!!!!! 8)

works well here :

ubuntu 18.10 latest updates + nvidia-415.

1- game runs fine ! i'm "in-game"...

2- seems same settings than windows graphics.... (vulkan) , seems like i used MSAAX2 instead of MSAAx4 in win but not sure.

3- 1st issue : /home/*******/documents" "/Egosoft/X4/...." does not exist ; i done a manual save (not quick save), and when i relaunch game the save loads... but not the saves i imported from windows into this folder. The manual save #1 is hidden, and can't found it anywhere to replace it with my saves.
ubuntu 18.10 latest updates + nvidia-415 + pulseaudio + xbox one pad.

i7-2600k, gtx 970, 16 gb ram, focusrite saffire pro 24 soundcard, ssd.

ant1393
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon, 10. Dec 18, 12:54
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by ant1393 » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 20:59

ant1393 wrote:
Tue, 26. Feb 19, 20:43
.. et UN GRAND MERCé !!!!!! for the Linux version !!!!!!!! 8)

works well here :

ubuntu 18.10 latest updates + nvidia-415.

1- game runs fine ! i'm "in-game"...

2- seems same settings than windows graphics.... (vulkan) , seems like i used MSAAX2 instead of MSAAx4 in win but not sure.

3- 1st issue : /home/*******/documents" "/Egosoft/X4/...." does not exist ; i done a manual save (not quick save), and when i relaunch game the save loads... but not the saves i imported from windows into this folder. The manual save #1 is hidden, and can't found it anywhere to replace it with my saves.
3 -> (fixed) ->
Xautos Modérateur Il y a 13 minutes
Only other place i can find X4 folders beside the X4F folder itself and the one provided earlier:
home > [Username] > .config > Egosoft > X4 > [Numbers]
i launch game....
ubuntu 18.10 latest updates + nvidia-415 + pulseaudio + xbox one pad.

i7-2600k, gtx 970, 16 gb ram, focusrite saffire pro 24 soundcard, ssd.

fallenwizard
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue, 13. Apr 10, 20:03
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by fallenwizard » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 21:07

Byter wrote: Starting the game works fine, it seems to do its thing... and then EVERYTHING simply hangs. Can't even access tty2. But the music keeps playing :P
I managed to get to the main menu ONCE, thought I could change the AA settings and whatnot before starting a new game and ended up with the same problem.

As mentioned in the main post, I already tried waiting for about 20 minutes in hope it comes back... but nope.

A more verbose log could help maybe? How would I obtain that? Or am I simply missing some dependency?
This looks like the all too common Vega GPU hangs. There is nothing Egosoft can really do because it's a driver bug.

You can try to upgrade to the LLVM 8.x and mesa 19.x development versions (or wait until they officially release)
If they don't fix the problem, you should create a bug report in the freedesktop bug tracker.

EDIT:
There is also the possibility of trying out AMDVLK or AMDGPU-Pro but there is no guarantee that they work flawlessly either.
Last edited by fallenwizard on Tue, 26. Feb 19, 21:29, edited 1 time in total.

tero
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue, 8. Mar 05, 15:25
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by tero » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 21:26

Performance is good so far.
Only problem for now is that i can't walk around the stations. Everytime I try i'll get ported to my ship after a few seconds.
Waat dat wat? Dat waat wat!

rmazurek
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue, 13. Aug 13, 04:04
x3tc

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by rmazurek » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 21:42

Yes, X4 on Linux :) I have to have this game now :)

AnakiMana
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue, 7. Mar 06, 04:48
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by AnakiMana » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 22:03

tero wrote:
Tue, 26. Feb 19, 21:26
Performance is good so far.
Only problem for now is that i can't walk around the stations. Everytime I try i'll get ported to my ship after a few seconds.
You're probably pressing Shift + D which is the default hot key for teleporting back to the ship. I think everybody tries using shift to move faster out of habit.

ant1393
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon, 10. Dec 18, 12:54
x4

Re: Linux Support (Beta)

Post by ant1393 » Tue, 26. Feb 19, 22:05

issues linux 2.0 :

- gamepad mouse emulation does not show cursor on map. (can't clicks..)

- sound of laser / weapons is very low / inaudible.

- map filters tabs does not show buttons sometimes.
ubuntu 18.10 latest updates + nvidia-415 + pulseaudio + xbox one pad.

i7-2600k, gtx 970, 16 gb ram, focusrite saffire pro 24 soundcard, ssd.

Return to “X4: Foundations - Technical Support”